JCU Announces 2013 Student Award Winners

2013 Student Award Winners

2013 Student Award Winners

“Welcome to this celebration of excellence at John Cabot University,” said President Franco Pavoncello as he addressed students, faculty and staff gathered at the Secchia Terrace on April 23rd for JCU’s annual Student Award ceremony. “These students define our mission as a University and their successes are a testimonial to the quality of our faculty.”

Both the President and Dean of Academics Mary Merva praised this year’s group of winners, not just for their impressive academic achievements, but also for the contributions they have made to John Cabot University, the local community, and beyond.

Many professors presenting the awards described how difficult it was to choose from such an exceptional group of students and how challenging and rewarding it has been to have these students in class.

This year’s Presidential Award for Outstanding Service to JCU has two winners, Student Government President Liridona Malota, whom President Pavoncello praised for taking Student Government to new heights, and Melissa Ashley Abate, who has contributed to the University community in countless ways, including lending her precious talents as a photographer.

Assistant Dean for Student Academic Affairs Andrea Lanzone quoted Muhammed Ali to describe the outstanding community service work carried out by JCU students: “Champions aren’t made in gyms. Champions are made from something they have deep inside them-a desire, a dream, a vision. They have to have the skill, and the will. But the will must be stronger than the skill.”

Here is the full list of winners:

Lloyd Dodd Award in Art History: Maria Plateo
Luciano Battelli Award in Business Administration: Alina Elena Alexandrescu
Communications Award: Alessandra Colzani
Creative Writing: Eric Jensen
Economics Award: Margherita Vinciguerrra
English Literature Award: Kathryn R. Wiebe
Brian Williams Award in History: Francisco Infante
Humanistic Studies Award: Vanessa Vaca Landeta
International Affairs Award: Leonardo Quattrucci
Italian Literature Award: Federica Bruera
Marketing Award: Mary Rose Rideout
Mathematics Award: Cinzia D’Alessandro and Margherita Vinciguerra
Political Science Award: Francisco Infante
Psychology Award: Federica Bruera

Presidential Award for Outstanding Service to JCU Award: Melissa Ashley Abate and Liridona Malota
Alessandro Mioni Student Award: Leonardo Quattrucci
Student Leadership Award: Anthony Vanicek
Service to the JCU Community Award: Donatella Gomez Paloma
Community Service Award: Joshua Cambria and Vanessa Vaca Landeta
Student Worker Award: Kirila Cvetkoska, Chelsea Anne Hudson, Lorenzo Marcellino
Sports Award: Luke F. Norian
Albert Walker Fuller Prize for Op/Ed Articles: Francesco Piluso

Gabriella Di Benedetto
Raam Venkatesh